Joachim Gauck, DBU © DBU/Peter Himsel
25 Mar 2015

German Environmental Award: German Federal Environmental Foundation announces cities for ceremony based on sustainability criteria

Erfurt (2018), Mannheim (2019), Hannover (2020), Darmstadt (2021) and Magdeburg (2022) are all set to host the biggest environmental award (€500,000) in Europe in the coming years. The host cities were revealed by the German Federal Environmental Foundation (DBU) following the decision of an expert jury panel who considered technical, organisational and administrative framework conditions as well as sustainability criteria. The chair of the DBU Board of Trustees, Rita Schwarzelühr-Sutter, explains: "On the basis of the sustainability code for the events sector we want to send a message about sustainable action and help to establish resource-efficiency criteria with green meetings."

In Erfurt the award presentation will take place in the exhibition centre, in Mannheim in the event hall of mannheim congress, in Hannover Congress Centre, in Darmstadt’s Darmstadtium and in Magdeburg’s Maritim Hotel. The award presentation has previously taken place in Würzburg (2016, Congress Centre) and Braunschweig (2017, city hall). This year the award will be delivered by the President of Germany, Joachim Gauck, on 8 November in the Colosseum Theatre in Essen.

A total of 24 event and exhibition halls applied to host the award which recognises achievements of those who have made an exemplary contribution to the protection and maintenance of the environment or who will contribute to a substantial improvement in the environment and the future.

The German Environmental Award conferred by the DBU was founded in 1991 and takes place at different locations each year since 1993 to enable the foundation to "give a clear indication of the variety and particularities of the approximately 10,000 project and co-operation partners in the whole of Germany", explains Schwarzelühr-Sutter.

Previous award winners include the Nobel Laureate Prof. Paul Crutzen (1994), the former Polish environment minister Dr. Maciej Nowicki (1996), Hamburg entrepreneur Dr. Michael Otto (1997), the director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Prof. Dr. Hans Joachim Schellnhuber (2007), the  former head of the United Nations Environment Program Prof. Klaus Töpfer (2002), the co-director of the Institute for Applied Ecology, Dr. Rainer Grießhammer (2010), the "electric power" revolutionary Ursula Sladek (2013) and the current honorary chair of Friends of the Earth Germany (BUND), Prof. Angelika Zahrnt (2009).


If you require any further information about the meetings destination Germany, we are happy to help you. Just give us a call or send us an email.

  • +49 69 242930-0

Contact Germany

  • +1 212 6614582

Contact USA

  • + 86 10 6590 6445

Contact China

Newsletter for meeting planners & MICE professionals

Keep up-to-date and register for our “Meetings made in Germany “ newsletter: Get invaluable industry insights including case studies and trend reports plus all the latest information needed for planning your next event in Germany. 


Subscribe now